The ART of DYING: Bereavement & Grief Therapy
Transformation for the 7th Chakra part II

Death – it is the only certainly in life.
All beings die, it is the most basic fact of life, yet one that causes the strongest reactions.
Birth and death are atomic moments, because they last just for a short time, yet their power influences the rest of our life, like atomic explosions.
Within those few moments all the experiences of life are present, the energetic way a person dies indicates the way they have lived their life.
Most people die unconsciously because that is how they lived their life, but a spiritually conscious person can die with consciousness.
Perhaps tomorrow, perhaps after some more years, or perhaps even today – death can happen at any time, to anyone, at anytime.
Despite it being so certain, it is something that we go on avoiding.
Death is a great taboo, something we don’t want to look at, something not to talk about, and if we do talk about it, it will be a sad and serious affair.

Death triggers so many emotions – fear, sadness, anger and shock – and not only for the dying person but also for all their relatives and friends.
Death is shocking because we go on avoiding it, and death is sad because it separates us from who we love.
The difficulty that death brings comes to both the person that dies and to the people that are left behind.

Psychologists, such as Kübler-Ross and Sanders, who have studied people who are terminally ill and their relatives have created the concept of
The Five Stages of Grief,’ other Bereavement Therapists work with more stages, however the five stage theory is a good basis.
Through experience and observation, Samudroprem has often worked with people who are suffering some form of grief, and has found that the stages
of grief are a natural process, but difficulties arise when a person does not fully accept or allow the full experience of a stage.

The five stages of grief according to Kübler-Ross are:
Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance

The five stages of grief according to Sanders are:
Shock, loss awareness, withdrawal, healing and renewal

During this self-experiential workshop we will practice therapeutic exercises based on these stages of grief and add Osho Meditations.
Death has been called the ‘greatest fiction’ by Osho and he frequently spoke on the need for meditators to transform their fear of death by living life fully
and meditatively which he called the “the art of dying.”
Osho’s unique teaching on death has encouraged a new vision of death as a celebration of the culmination of life.

“Everybody has to finally pass through the difficult stage of death. Only a meditator is capable of passing through it as if it is a joke.
He can pass through it laughing and singing, because he knows that the fire cannot burn and the death cannot destroy him.
He belongs to the eternal life… If you can die consciously, death is only a door into a new life on a higher plane.
But to die consciously, one has to live consciously… Only a conscious life is rewarded with a conscious death.”
Osho – The Invitation #9

For whom is this workshop relevant?
•        for everyone who has had a close relative, friend or loved one die, especially recently
•        for everyone who feels they have not fully accepted the death of a close one, that the memory of the loved one still evokes sadness, depression,
anger or guilt
•        for everyone who is currently in a situation where a loved one will die soon
•        for everyone who works with the ill or dying such as doctors, nurses and counsellors
•        for everyone who works with the relatives of an ill or dying such as doctors and counsellors
•        for everyone who wants to see a new way of celebrating death and to learn the new age way for funerals
•        for all meditators who want to prepare themselves for the ultimate mediation, their own eventual death